Meet our Principal

Dr Susan Stevens

Dr Susan Stevens, PhD, MEd(EdAdmin), MMus, AMusA, GradDip(AdolHeal&Welf), GDipTheol, FACE, MACEA, MAICD, is Principal of Loreto Mandeville Hall Toorak, and is a truly accomplished woman in her own right.

While completing her Music Degree at the Faculty of Music, University of Melbourne, Dr Stevens was the recipient of numerous academic distinctions, including being twice awarded the prestigious Ormond Exhibition for Academic Excellence, and twice awarded the Una Bourne Pianoforte Scholarship for outstanding practical performance.

She began her teaching career with the Victorian Department of Education, later transferring to the Catholic and Independent Schools Sector.

Dr Stevens worked for a number of years with the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA) in various capacities. During her time, she has been Chairperson and Chief Assessor for Music Styles; Assistant Chief Assessor for Music Performance and Solo and Music Performance. She has also served as a committee member on the Loreto Schools Advisory Committee, and held the position of Chair of the national Loreto Committee.

Dr Stevens also contributes to a number of outside groups and committees. She has been a member of various Committees of the PAVCSS (Catholic Principal's Association), the Girls Sport Victoria (GSV) Website Committee, the Invergowrie Grants Committee, and is currently Deputy President and Director on the Board of Directors of the Invergowrie Foundation. Dr Stevens has held the position of chairperson of the Mary Ward International Advisory Committee for Grants Allocation, and is served for a decade as a Director of the Board of Mary Ward International Australia (MWIA). 

Furthermore, she has also been President of (GSV) for seven years, as well as serving as a Director on the board of Mt St Joseph's Girls' School in Altona West.

Dr Stevens is a frequent guest speaker at National and International conferences and is a qualified member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Dr Stevens will complete her service at the conclusion of 2021. Succession planning for key leadership roles across the School is a key area of focus for the Board and their objective is to find the best possible candidate to lead our School from 2022.

Leadership Team


Deputy Principal - Executive: Ms Angela O'Dwyer
BA (Melb), GradDipEd (Sec) (ACU), MEd(EdMgt) (Melb) MACEL

Deputy Principal - Studies: Ms Sam Jensen
CertIVTAA, BA(Hons), MTeach (UQ), MEdLead (ACU)

Director of Rathfarnham & ELC: Mrs Catherine Maimone Crowhurst
BA, BTeach, GCertEN, MEd(Math) (ACU)

Deputy Principal - Staff: Seamus Scorgie
BSc, BA(Hons), GradDipEd(Sec), MA (Monash), MEd(EdMgt) (Melb), GradCertCathSt, GradCertMgmtNFP, MBA(Exec) (ACU), MACE

Director of Students: Kate Guggenheimer
BArts(FinArt) (RMIT), ProfCertAdolCouns (Monash), GDipEd, MEd(EdMgt) (Melb)

Director of Programs - Teagan Collins
BPhysEd(Sec) (Deakin), MEd(EdMgt) (Melb)


Business Manager - Tim Rowler